Astrophysics (index)about

primary mirror

(main mirror in a reflecting telescope)

A primary mirror is the main, large mirror in a reflector telescope, which may have additional mirrors. The primary mirror is the first mirror off which the light reflects, following mirrors called secondary and tertiary. A telescope with no secondary mirror is called a prime focus telescope. Primary mirrors now range up to around 10 meters, but plans are to build telescopes with primary mirrors three times that size.


Referenced by:
Cassegrain reflector
Colossus Telescope
Dall-Kirkham telescope
Gregorian telescope
Herschelian telescope
Hobby-Eberly Telescope (HET)
James Clerk Maxwell Telescope (JCMT)
Kepler Telescope
Korsch telescope
liquid mirror telescope
Nasmyth telescope
Origins Space Telescope (OST)
prime focus
Ritchey-Chrétien telescope (RCT)
Southern African Large Telescope (SALT)
Schmidt camera
Schmidt-Newton telescope
three-mirror anastigmat
wavefront error (WFE)
Yolo telescope